Back to Top

National Private Pilot’s Licence (NPPL)

Minimum Age

An applicant for a NPPL shall be at least 17 years of age.  The minimum age for the first solo flight is 16 years of age.

Licence Validity

The NPPL (SSEA/SLMG) will be issued with a lifetime validity.

Ratings included in an NPPL used to be issued with a 12 month validity. It was found that applying a 12 month validity date at initial issue could cause confusion if the rating was maintained by means of the experience method. Accordingly the ratings page of the NPPL now only shows the date a skill test was passed and a validity column is not included on the certificate of revalidation page.

Flying Training/Experience Requirements

An applicant for a NPPL (SSEA/SLMG) shall have completed at least 32 hours flight time as pilot of aeroplanes (excluding Navigation Skill Test and General Skill Test).  NPPL(SSEA) training shall be completed at a Registered Facility or FTO, and training for the NPPL(SSEA/SLMG) at an approved BGA site. This must include the following particular requirements.

  • 22 hours dual instruction (to include 1 hour instrument appreciation)
  • 10 hours solo flight time (to include at least 4 hours of solo cross-country flight time. (Including one cross-country flight of at least 185km (100nm) in the course of which full stop landings at two aerodromes other than the aerodrome of departure shall be made;
  • Navigation Skill Test (NST) (minimum of 1 hour duration and to be taken prior to undertaking the qualifying solo cross-country flight);
  • General Skill Test (GST) (minimum of 1 hour duration)


An applicant may not take the General Skill Test until all associated flying has been completed and the associated theoretical knowledge examinations have been passed.

The General Skill Test shall be taken within 6 months of the completion of training and all sections of the test must be completed within 6 months of the first attempt. If the applicant does not pass all sections of the skill test at the first attempt, (the section (s) that have been failed may be attempted in a further test (s).

There is no limit to the number of tests that may be taken.